Scientific Committee


Moritz Neun, IARAI


Christian Eichenberger, IARAI

Committee members:

Prof. Mark Coates, McGill University, Canada

Mark Coates is a professor at McGill University in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. He was an Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing from 2007-2011 and a Senior Area Editor for IEEE Signal Processing Letters from 2012-2015. He is currently an Associate Editor of IEEE Trans. Signal and Information Processing over Networks.  His research interests include statistical signal processing and machine learning, Bayesian and Monte Carlo inference, and learning on graphs and networks. His most influential and widely cited contributions have been on the topics of network tomography and distributed particle filtering.


Dr Song Gao, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA

Dr. Song Gao is an Assistant Professor in GIScience at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, where he leads the Geospatial Data Science Lab. His main research interests include Human Mobility, Geospatial Big Data, and GeoAI. He is the principal investigator of multiple research grants from NSF, Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation, and geospatial industry partners.  He is (co-)author of more than 100 refereed journal and conference publications. He currently serves as the Associate Editor of Annals of GIS, Editorial Board Member of PLOS ONE, Scientific Reports, and Cartography andCartography and Geographic Information Systems.


Dr Anastasios Kouvelas, ETH Zürich, Switzerland

Anastasios Kouvelas is the Director of the research group Traffic Engineering and Control at the Institute for Transport Planning and Systems (IVT), Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering, ETH Zurich. He has been awarded with the 2012 Best IEEE ITS PhD Dissertation Award from IEEE Intelligent Transportation Systems Society. He is a Senior Member in IEEE, member of the Transportation Research Board (TRB) Standing Committee on Intelligent Transportation Systems, since 2019. He serves as Associate Editor in IET Intelligent Transport Systems since 2017 and has co-edited several special issues in other journals.

David Levinson

Prof. David P. Levinson, University of Sydney, Australia

David Levinson is a Professor of Transport Engineering at the School of Civil Engineering at the University of Sydney. He is an honorary affiliate of the Institute of Transport and Logistics Studies, where he is also a member of the Board of Advice. He received his Ph.D. in Transportation Engineering at the University of California at Berkeley in 1998. His research interests span transport, from engineering and design, through policy and planning, to geography and economics. His most recent research emphasizes transport-land use interactions, accessibility, and transport system evolution.


Dr Piotr Mirowski, Deep Mind, UK

Piotr Mirowski is a staff research scientist at DeepMind, where he is a member of Deep Learning department and Dr. R. Hadsell’s team. His work focuses on navigation-related research and scaling up autonomous agents to real world environments. He obtained his Ph.D. in Computer Science at New York University in 2011. His previous work experience encompasses epileptic seizure prediction from EEG, the inference of gene regulation networks, WiFi-based geo-localization, simultaneous localization and mapping on a smartphone, robotics, natural language processing, and search query auto-completion.

Razvan Pascanu

Dr Razvan Pascanu, Deep Mind, UK

Razvan Pascanu is a research scientist at DeepMind. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Montreal in 2014. His research mainly focuses on deep learning and deep reinforcement learning. His research interests include theory of deep neural networks, graph neural networks, memory and recurrent neural networks, and learning with multiple tasks from continual learning to transfer learning, multi-task, curriculum or meta-learning.


Prof. Monika Sester, Leibniz University Hannover, Germany

Monika Sester is a surveying engineer by training (University Karlsruhe) and professor and head of the Institute of Cartography and Geoinformatics (ikg) at Leibniz University Hannover. Her projects are funded by the German Science Foundation (DFG), German Ministries, EU, as well as collaborations with Mapping Agencies and industry. She chaired several Working Groups in ISPRS (International Society of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing) and was Vice President of the International Cartographic Association (2015-2019). She has been Vice President of Leibniz University Hannover (2016-2017). Currently, Monika is chair of a Senate Commission of the DFG on Earth System Science and member of the Senate of the Helmholtz Association. She published 138 papers in peer-reviewed international journals and conferences.


Prof. Cyrus Shahabi, University of Southern California, USA

Cyrus Shahabi is a Professor of Computer Science, Electrical Engineering and Spatial Sciences, Helen N. and Emmett H. Jones Professor, the chair of the Computer Science Department, and the director of the Integrated Media Systems Center at USC’s Viterbi School of Engineering. He is also a co-founder of two USC spin-offs, Geosemble Technologies and Tallygo. He received his Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Southern California in 1996. His research focused on geospatial and multidimensional data management, including traffic prediction, spatial crowdsourcing, geo-social networks, privacy in location-based services, video data management, and many more.


Prof. Leonid Sigal, University of British Columbia, Canada

Leonid Sigal is an Associate Professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of British Columbia. He is also a Canada Research Chair (CRC II) in Computer Vision and Machine Learning and a remote Faculty Member of the Vector Institute for AI in Toronto. He received his Ph.D. in Computer Science at Brown University in 2008. His research focuses on problems of visual understanding and reasoning, including object recognition, scene understanding, articulated motion capture, motion modeling, action recognition, motion perception, manifold learning, transfer learning, character and cloth animation, and a number of other directions on the intersection of computer vision, machine learning, and computer graphics.

Eleni Vlahogianni

Prof. Eleni I. Vlahogianni, National Technical University of Athens, Greece

Eleni Vlahogianni is an Associate Professor at the Department of Transportation Planning and Engineering of the National Technical University of Athens. She received her Ph.D. in Traffic Operations at National Technical University of Athens in 2005. Her primary research field is traffic flow analysis and forecasting. Other research fields include mobility modeling, driving analytics, ICT applications to transportation, intelligent transportation systems, traffic management, advanced technologies for monitoring transportation infrastructures.


Imprint | Terms and conditions

Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?

Create Account